UK amateur boxer Frankie Gavin to turn pro after Olympics

July 18, 2008 at 9:51 am Leave a comment

Britain’s world amateur lightweight champion Frankie Gavin has confirmed he will turn professional after the Beijing Olympic Games this summer.

The 24-year-old’s decision is sure to start a scramble among the world’s top promoters – he has already spoken to Oscar De La Hoya’s Golden Boy group.

“I will turn pro after Beijing whatever happens,” he said.

“If I come back with a gold medal I will have accomplished everything there is to accomplish in the amateur sport.”

Gavin said that turning professional straight after Beijing made financial sense.

“I know if I succeed in Beijing my earning potential will rise a lot so I have got to concentrate on making sure that happens,” he said.

“Fighting in the Olympics in London would be a great thing but it is too far away for me.

“I will be ready for new challenges and I am looking forward to having the chance to prove myself as a professional.”

Entry filed under: Boxing. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Boxing Glossary beach volleyball

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Olympic City In Beijing >>

Map, photos and description

Categories


